Countries Exempt from English Proficiency Requirement

South Dakota Mines follows the guidance from the CIA World Fact Book in determining which countries are exempt from our English proficiency requirements. These requirements are school and department policies.

А-К	L-Z
Anguilla	Liberia
Antigua and Barbuda	Malawi
Australia	Marshall Islands
Bahamas	Micronesia, Federated States of
Barbados	Montserrat
Belize	New Zealand
Bermuda	Nigeria
British Virgin Islands	Niue
Canada (except Quebec)	Norfolk Island
Cayman Islands	Northern Mariana Islands
Christmas Island	Papua New Guinea
Cook Islands	Pitcairn Islands
Dominica	Scotland
England	Sierra Leone
Eswatini (formerly Swaziland)	St. Helena, Ascension
Falkland Islands	St. Kitts and Nevis
Fiji	St. Lucia
Gambia	St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Ghana	Singapore
Gibraltar	Sint Maarten
Grenada	South Sudan
Guam	Tonga
Guernsey	Trinidad and Tobago
Guyana	Turks and Caicos Islands
Ireland, Northern	Uganda
Ireland, Republic of	United Kingdom
Isle of Man	Virgin Islands, the
Jamaica	Wales
Jersey	Zambia
Kenya	Zimbabwe
Kiribati	

Advancing the frontier of innovation

m

SOUTH

MINES

DAKOTA