

GAF Allocation Committee

Committee Charter/Purpose:

The General Activity Fund (GAF) Allocation Committee shall be responsible for annually recommending to the president of South Dakota Mines the amount of the GAF to be allotted to certain administrative units and the detailed budgets for those units receiving funding from GAF. The committee will also monitor the expenditures for each of those activities throughout the calendar year.

Committee Structure/Composition and Term:

The committee consists of:

- Six students, each serving one-year terms
- One faculty member, serving a three-year term
- One Civil Service employee, serving a three-year term
- One non-faculty exempt employee, serving a three-year term

The committee shall be led by a chair, the Dean of Students. The Vice President for Finance and Administration shall be its advisor.

Committee Meeting Schedule:

The committee shall meet during the annual budget process in late winter to review the responsibilities of the committee and then to receive presentations from administrative units requesting GAF. A total of 3-4 meetings per year can be expected.

Committee Membership:

- Joseph Dlugos (Chair / Dean of Students)
- William Spindle (VP for Finance & Administration)
- Dean Jensen (Faculty)
- Valerie Solano (NFE)
- Gina Fiorello (CSA)
- Abigail Van Ruler (Student Association CFO)
- Nicholas Lockwood (student)
- Niven Fernandes (student)
- Yash Naik (student)
- Calvin Tohm (graduate student)
- Samuel Kessinger (Student Senate President)

SOURCE: Dean of Students, January 2024 **REFERENCE:**